Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Daisypath - Personal pictureDaisypath Anniversary tickers

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Turning 37

In a matter of days, I turn 37 and I have a High Court Trial that day. Bah. And then I'll be on the wrong side of late 30s.

Fast. With work and children, the days go by relentlessly and sometimes, almost in a blur. The workweek is too short for work and the weekends are too short for family time. I don't know how else life can be slowed down to relish each moment...perhaps when I am in my 60s and that huge loan of ours is finally paid down. I'll like to spend my days fishing, reading, shopping and playing lots of video games.

E2 was sick for the last couple of weeks and been out of school. That's paying $700 for nothing. And I had to sleep on a couch in her hospital room which was uncomfortable and tiring. I came home to E1 being sick with a snotty nose and had to bring them to the doctor's. This experience reinforced my belief that my CEB and I are done with having children. I just can't physically nor financially manage another mouth, as much as I would like to have a baby in my arms and breathe in the smell that only a newborn can have.

E2 has toilet trained herself amazingly. She has not soiled her diaper in days. I'm left with a heap of diapers that I bought because I thought she needed them till she was 4. However, she toilet trained herself overnight with minimal intervention from me. All I did was have a chart with a reward system for each time they used the toilet or potty to do a dump but I expected them to still wet their diapers till they were much older but E2 has totally trained herself not to use diapers. Talk about unexpected surprises. E1 still wets her diapers but at least she doesn't soil her diapers like before so it is a lot less work to clean up and one of the parts of parenting I really dislike.

They now literally live for Universal Studios day. It also surprises me that instead of picking material items like bags, new clothes etc as her reward (on the potty chart), E2 prefers to pick experiences like indoor playground or going to USS. E1 on the other hand is determined to have pretty things like what her friends have like Frozen bags and nice shoes. The two of them couldn't be any more different!

But I digress. This post was supposed to be about me turning 37. I feel old and tired most days. Work keeps me going, when work is exciting that is. I feel like that I want the children to grow up quickly so I can pursue my career like I did when I was younger which is to put in many long hours, attend meetings and be fully committed instead of juggling between work and the children. I wake at 7 with them and change and feed them before we leave at 815-830. I drop them off then reach work at 915-930 then work through lunch and leave at 430 so I can pick them up at 515 before their school shuts at 530. After that I feed, bathe and do Kumon with them till 730. I usually then do more work in the night or do grocery shopping or just chill in bed with a book or surf net before sleeping at 11pm. That's a Slog's Life.

Those days of hedonistic pleasure, booking an air ticket and planning for the next trip...of sleeping till 9-10am in the mornings. Gone. I now understand why couples choose not to have children! But I could not NOT  have children. I really wanted kids (not twins), someone to love, snuggle and raise well to be a contributing successful member of society. My CEB didn't want kids so we compromised and we were handed E1 and E2 as a pair. I guess if I had E1 as my first child, I would be so totally done. If E2, I would have been too exhausted to have another but might still want another. So in a way, it's good how things are.

What do I want at age 37? Maybe stop driving My Precious. I mean she works fine and is in really decent shape but if I'm earning x amount a year, it would be nice to feel good walking to a car that I was proud of and getting in. Yet the horrendous mortgage prevents me from splurging so I'll drive My Precious to the end of 10 years which is coming up and probably beyond. I'll also like to keep my job and current life style until I turn 40 which is when they finally get registered for Pri 1.

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Turning 3

Since Lihwei's death, I haven't blogged nor had the slightest inclination to. I received the news only a couple of weeks ago that he has been finally laid to rest. Truth be told, I can't wrap around my mind or heart around the fact that he's dead, gone and now ashes in a niche. How do you put away more than 12 years of friendship just like that? I can't. I miss him. I miss what he would say to me if I called him. I miss dialing his number. Life is beautiful but it is so fleeting and sometimes, cruel.

But it has to go on.

The twins turned 3 in May. This year, we celebrated their birthday in the childcare with all their little friends. I hope everyone had a blast and enjoyed the cake, goody bag of sweets and little presents.

Twin A's motor skillls are far superior to that of Twin B - she can write 1 to 10 free hand in a 1.5 inch by 1.5 inch box. Phonics class has also helped improve her reading skills so she can read most words in a book but she doesn't ask for help if she sees a word she does not know and prefers to flip through the book looking at pictures. Temperament wise, still a crier unfortunately. She still wails or snivels which really needs changing.

Twin B can;t write free hand and her tracing is horrid. She literally gobbles up books. Her memory is pretty good too - she can still remember stories read eons ago while I have forgotten who Belliforant is. However, her memory is too vivid and she is afraid of all the monsters she has read about. Maybe I better stop borrowing those books on Greek methodology. She's still a loving affectionate child in private but unfortunately proving to be disrespectful in school. Maybe she needs a sterner hand.

My precious turns 9 years old in less than half a year. I can't believe it has almost been a decade since I bought the car. Despite being tempted several times along the way, I haven't changed car because this car is still reliable, well maintained and well, cheap. Car prices have come down from the peak but are still astronomical. I don't think I will be changing cars any time soon - probably will ride it to the end and maybe my CEB will take over since his is less ideally maintained. I probably will get a 7 seater the next round although 4 is the size of our immediate family.

I strongly doubt we will have another child. There is immense pressure and uncertainty at work so I'm going to need to well watch expenses and my job. If I were younger, I'll probably go for another one too but the 3 years have been expensive, time consuming and exhausting. I just don't think I have it in me to go for another one. My CEB is on the same page so I guess that's my lot in life.

Tuesday, May 03, 2016

Finally, I dream

So there we were again, you hitching your usual ride in my car and us going off to some place to eat. Me worrying about trivialities like the parking fees and you going on about your cancer. I miss you Lihwei. I woke up with the tatters of my dream about me, and I drove to work aching over the hole in my heart over your death. 

Parenting, Work, GameofThrones, Food...my moments are filled but you, you have been and are in the brief moments in between those moments. How is it possible that you have left this world? How is it possible I won't hear you over the phone again? How is it possible that we can never meet again this life, on this earth? You were so brilliant, so humorous, you said you loved to make me laugh and I often caught you looking at me with such happiness when you made me toss back my head and guffaw at your pun. Oh, your puns, your wit...we were made to make each other happy, to be best friends but never more. You said she could never get your jokes and the jokes were not funny because you had to explain them, and the other, while intellectually capable, never inspired you to make these.  You said you needed me for a mind-f+++ and I never minded that because that's what you were to me too. And nothing more. You had your needs satisfied (though you liked to deny) elsewhere and I had my means too. It was so wonderful, hanging out with you, it was happiness. There were no expectations and no pressure, unlike a romantic or sexual relationship.

You once flew to Hongkong to join me on my work trip - I had booked one of the cheapest hotels I could find in Kowloon and you were appalled. I wanted to travel only by train but you showed me that taxis were not that expensive either. My sandals broke and we went to Marks & Spencers to buy a new pair...we went to the Peak, walked up Soho, passed churches and just walked. Memories of a life before, a life I will never have again.

I miss you so much. You lifted me up. 

Monday, April 18, 2016

A week

And it's been a week. The days rolled by, filled with work, children and shopping. And I came to wonder if it was all a bad dream and that I'll still hear you when I call your number. I hear your voice in my head "Hey, how are you?" in that slow drawl when I pick up my office phone. And I still look at whatsapp as I habitually did when you were still alive, to make sure you were alive (from the timestamps). The last time someone looked at your whatsapp was last Tuesday. Again, another piece of you that is frozen in time forever. Like your blog.

Digital footprints frozen in time before we move to another age. Dinosaur age to Digital age. You aren't around to see the next era and neither will I. I don't know what lies beyond death although I know what I am supposed to believe. A lot of things that I thought mattered, after your death, didn't seem so important. I hear you say "doesn't matter, doesn't matter" impatiently which is what you used to say to cut off my whining. And truly it doesn't after some time, although it did matter terribly at some point. Such, is life, and the passage of time.

I read through my entire blog the days after your death. There was a post which was a summary of a book (Tuesdays with Morries). I had (bothered to) type that the purpose of life is to give and to enjoy/part take of the pleasures off the world. I have also heard it said that the point of life is to make the world a better place than before we came.

You did enjoy life, that's for sure. If I look back from the time we met, you certainly had a knack of enjoying the best of life. I think you died without regrets - it was such a sunny day last Monday morning. I'm just hoping, hoping against hope, that you aren't dead still. 

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Somewhere over the rainbow

Can't get you out of my mind. Why. Should have known this day would come since you were first diagnosed with Stage 4. Should have been better prepared, should have tried harder to meet you, should have called you or Shu the moment you stopped looking at whatsapp.

Didn't do any of that. Was too busy with life and the whole routine of living which consists of kids, work, household stuff and CEB. Your death has made me question what life is about, and it should be no surprise that my productivity at work these two days has been shite. Thankfully it is somewhat of a lull period but it's ironical that as I prepare for the first trial in over 10 years, you, the first person I worked on a trial with, are gone. You, the person who would have enjoyed the fight and high of this trial, are at rest.

When I was driving home yesterday after a most unproductive afternoon at work (I was writing the previous entry, reading your blog and my blog which refers to yours), this song "Somewhere over the rainbow" came on the radio. It's the first time I have heard it on the radio. I thought you might be trying to say something. It also rained this morning as I drove to work, but it was bright and sunny yesterday morning when you were cremated. There is a belief that when it doesn't rain at the time of burial/cremation, the person is happy to go. And you must have been. No more tests, discomfort, pacing, struggles. You really must have wanted to go in the end, and so you did. You proved even in your final moments, what you had always believed in and lived by "Gotta hit it with your mind".

Used to say that to me all the time to encourage me. No matter what my struggles were. You called me your muse, diamond eyes and a capybara. But you were always there. You see, I'm having a real problem with you being gone because you aren't there anymore. We had this agreement, that if we were both unmarried at 40, we would marry each other. You turned 40 a month ago unmarried and then you died. Not that we could have been married anyway but my point is that you aren't there. And friends are supposed to be. Even with your diagnosis, it seemed impossible that you would actually just die so quickly and leave all the living who loved you behind. Though we didn't meet so very much in the last 2 years, I was safe in the knowledge that you would always be there. And when we met you didn't want to talk so much about the cancer. You didn't want pity, you wanted to live. Celebrate life. Life to you (and me, before marriage) was a great adventure.

With that amount of brilliance, your mind yearned for more and sometimes it seemed to me you were inextricably bound to your struggles because without the struggles, your mind would be just too restless to tame and you would just implode. We were good together, so good as friends - I could count on you to be there, when I needed you. And now you are gone. I won't ever dial your hp number again, I won't message or whatsapp you ever again. I'll tell you what - I'm going to print together a file of pictures of our times together - pictures, texts, whatsapp and that's going to be something I grow old with. One of the little treasures that I hoard through the years and that's how you are going to stay with me. I can't lose you like that. I can't accept the fact I'm not going to get another text from you saying meow, or you pulling me close to ruffle my hair and demanding a hug. Or accept the fact that the phone won't ring any longer - you used to call me so often on my office phone. It's all quiet and this silence is deafening and pounding,

Can you come visit me sometimes in my dreams? I always thought that there would be plenty of time for us. For friendships. For when the kids grow up and become more independent. Or after our last phone call, that you would still be hanging on and going in and out of hospital. I even told you about the oxygen masks and all, and you said you didn't want that. Heck, you even had the strength in the last call to grouse about Shu and her Korean movies, and also about your mum. How would I know that less than a month later you would be dead.

We ran out of time so abruptly. So used to your melodrama, I never believed you meant it when you said you might just want to stay at home and wait till the end. Should have called you daily, should have gone to your house, should have reached out to Shu to find out where you were. But I know why I didn't - it wasn't what you wanted and you said so in such clear terms.

I will see you again at your niche but until then, come visit me in my dreams.

Monday, April 11, 2016

To Lihwei

Hey Lihwei,

Today I went to Mandai Crematorium for your memorial service. I went because I know if the positions were reversed, you would have gone for my funeral too. Nothing would have kept you away because you were always there for all the big moments in my life - when A1 triple-timed me and broke my heart, you took me under your wing and made me go to football matches (at Jurong even!), when A2 walked out on me at Novena Sq, you came all the way there with your book to comfort me, and when I married A3, you were there. You said marriage would change everything between us, but I told you it wouldn't. And it didn't. It was kids that did it. Having the twins meant that I no longer could just go on jaunts with you or meet you for dinner or movies And as bad luck would have it, the year I gave birth was the year you were diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer. When you told me, the news just would not sink in. It seemed impossible and incredible. We talked about this, and I told you "yes, you have to go down fighting" and you said "no, I am not going down". That was then, Your family and loved ones told me towards the end when you were given less than a month to leave, you gave up. 

When we talked when you called me on 18 March at 3am UK time in a hospital toilet, telling me that the doctor said he would give you just a month's supply of medicine, I asked you what you would do. You said maybe you just wanted to stay at home and have your mum take care of you. You said you would call me if you felt like talking to pass time. I said "what, you mean just wait to die". You said you were tired. I wouldn't accept it and told you that you had to get a second opinion, get a liver transplant. And then you said you would give chemo a shot. I asked you if you had found God or religion and you said you hadn't but you hoped that you would be reincarnated in Singapore after you died. We talked for about an hour and then the line was disconnected. You called again a bit later but I was working and I didn't pick up. I tried to follow up with you in the weeks after but you refused to meet me despite my asking. You said you were not well. You talked about Shu and about your Mum. You said she was in denial and just wanted you to fight fight fight but you didn't want to anymore. You leave me with so much guilt that I should have tried harder to meet you or maybe as my sister said, turned up at your doorstep. I don't know why you refused to meet me, maybe you were just too tired and sick, maybe you wanted me, your muse as you so often call me, to remember you hale and  hearty before you got sick. Because I would be the only one in your life who would remember you this way. 

I have too many memories of us that time cannot erase. I can't count how many nights I have been to your house, lying on your bed while you sat at your computer doing what you enjoy best, punting. We even went to Vietnam together with your mum and watched greyhound racing and walked on the beach. And to the amazement and doubt of many, what we had was purely platonic. How could it be more when all the time I have known you you were stricken with your relationship woes, as I was with mine. You were perpetually struggling with the Shu-Amelia story and I was a mess after A1. You cried at my office, snot all over my tax files (light blue if you recall). You called me after your dad died and cried over the phone. And I have cried all over your jacket, your pillow on countless times. Tell me my friend, tell me how I am supposed to move on and pretend your passing was nothing. Do you know how my heart broke when I looked into your coffin and saw a figure that didn't look anything like you? Do you know how many times I have cried between the time you died and now? I hear your voice, you would be saying don't cry, I'm not suffering. What is there to cry about? I'm at peace, I'm gone. And it's true, you are gone, you are of no more. All those questions, all that pacing, some over death and existential questions (and you blamed me because we were at a book fair at Suntec and you picked up a book on death), that's over for you. Your life story in your blog is frozen in time, in your last post on miracles. Maybe the miracle was not an event, maybe the miracle was really, just you. Your living, your life. 

You know what's really strange? I haven't watched a movie or even you tube on my phone for months, usually because I am so tired or I would rather do is surf facebook or buy stuff online, but the night before you died, I actually stumbled across a film called "A fault in our stars". It wasn't my intent to watch it as I had been trying to watch The Walking Dead Season 6 and for some reason, all the episodes of TWD wouldn't load at all and the only one that did was black and white. So I looked at the movie session and there was that show amongst others. I clicked on it and it played beautifully, seamlessly. It was a show about cancer, and the lead actor dies. It made me think of you and I was debating whether to tell you about the show. I had been getting worried about you because when I looked at whatsapp, the last time you were on was on Monday. So I texted Shu on FB at 2.30pm on Friday and she responded at 430pm that you had just passed away, an hour ago. I was leaving the office then to get the twins and everything was a blur. I drove and cried along the PIE, dried my tears when I got them, and did what needed doing when one has kids (feeding, changing, putting to bed). And then I sat down and cried some more, a lot more in the night after getting back from dinner. 

You didn't have to touch many people, indeed the turn out at the memorial service was testimony to that. But you touched the lives of the people who mattered to you deeply. And we were all there to say Goodbye to you. Goodbye the slug, Goodbye Lihwei, Goodbye, my friend. You are at peace and as torn up as I am about the hole in my world, I am grateful your struggles belong to yesterday. I will never forget you, and as long as I remember, as someone remembers you, your memory will stay alive in this world. 

Friday, April 08, 2016

Goodbye and God Speed

I have so much to say but there is so much pain in my heart and my tears are overflowing.

I will write a tribute another time but before this day which you left the world is over (8 April), my friend, my dearest friend...my shoulder to cry on during my darkest days, my travel companion on all these short jaunts, my lifesaver during the  nastiest road accident,I cannot let this day go without making you a promise - you will be so deeply missed and remembered. Rest now, all your struggles are over and you had lived a life well lived. (theslugreviews.blogspot.com)  

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Passports and prayers

Unlike many other parents I know of, we only made passports for the twins this month, 2 months shy of their 3rd birthday. Although travelling is free for a child under the age of 2, we didn't want to travel and be miserable. I'm sure it must have been awesome for those who traveled with their wee ones but I just didn't see myself doing that diapering, feeding and carrying around the clock, along with carrying a huge diaper bag, In fact, if it weren't for us being invited to stay in a USD1200 a night water villa with a private plunge pool in the middle of the Indian Ocean, we wouldn't be travelling this year either.

Since logistically it is still impossible for me to manage both on my own, we have decided on the "divide and conquer" strategy which will mean taking only one of the twins on vacation at a time until they are able to feed themselves and are more or less out of diaper, which is next year. We probably will go to Japan in April/May then when my helper returns for a break (and I hope she does return!) and I think that it may be far more meaningful than us trying to bring both along this year when both are still in diapers and refusing to self-feed although they are perfectly able to.

I've been sleeping at 10-12 most nights the past 3 weeks since Helper B left because I have never been able to sleep past 730am unlike before. I'm usually very tired and grouchy when my day starts with the bedroom door being flung open and the two rascals come running to the bedside for me to lift them up and well, start my day. Start my day involves tying up their hair, leading them to the bath, cleaning them up and changing them. Then starts the mind-numbing business of feeding them before school and then getting them into the car seats before doing the drop off and making my way to work while eating a sandwich on the way. I'm already beat before I start work and by 430pm I have to hop in the car and go race to pick them up before they are the last ones left sitting on the bleacher for an hour. It sucks. I call it groundhog day where every day involves the same routine and I can't pretend for a moment I am loving it. And even on the upcoming vacation, I doubt there will be much sleeping in. And oh, did I mention that I have to bring them for make up classes too since we will be gone the long weekend? Argh.

For this first trip overseas, I'm taking Twin B. I guess it shouldn't come as a surprise because she has always been the easier child. Easier as in, willing to suck milk fast from the breasts, milk bottle and try different food. Easier as in, wants to play and frolick in the pool without crying. Easier as in, not a mad screamer or crier for no absolute reason. Easier as in, willing to snuggle up close and sleep on my chest. Attributes which we will result in a less nightmarish "vacation". Our invitation to this water pool villa was procured on very clear terms "No crying". This would be impossible with Twin A given her tendency to pitch hysterics at will, refusal to try any other type of food except home cooked porridge and to drink from a milk bottle.

The differences between the twins narrow as the days go by, in terms of ability that is, but not temperament. Both are able to write 1 - 10 now in terms of mathematical ability and we will soon move on to equations. For English, both can read independently but Twin B has a superior vocab and is able to read and understand more complex words. Twin A shows little interest in reading at all, preferring to look at pictures and not making any effort to read books on her own. Twin B on the other hand, gets lost in books and words. She is intensely curious and very observant. Twin A however has a better attitude in school (all schools) and the teachers love her because she is generally helpful and obedient. Twin B has a poor attitude which smacks of a mix of defiance and being willful.

I have been trying to contact my friend, The Slug, (www.theslugreviews.blogspot.com) but he has proved rather reclusive. His recent blog entry was worrying, to say the least, and he seems to be headed for medical attention overseas which is a good thing (or a bad thing, depending how you look at it) because it means there is help to be gotten for his condition. He said to pray for him and we (mum, sis and I)) have been since we knew. I don't think he is very comfortable where he is and I do know better than to thrust myself upon him when he, in his own words "is trying to live life" but it's still all very worrying, this silence which is the opposite of what I have known of him. Got to keep trying to reach out to him though by whatever means and see if there is anything I can do. He's been there for me through the lowest points and it's disconcerting when I can't seem to find the right time to connect with him at all.

Tuesday, March 01, 2016

Life with just one helper

We sent Helper B off last Monday and I have been on leave till today - working out a schedule for Helper A and then trying to get my house in some sort of order before I start work. I've been waking at 645-7am when one of the twins burst into my room after their morning milk feed. Then it's bathing and changing them while the helper gets breakfast ready downstairs. It wasn't so bad when I was on leave and didn't have to work but today I feel just miserable - Twin B woke up at 6.15am and because I kept her in my room, she woke me up too at that ungodly hour. Really bad for concentration span at work, this sleep deprivation. Then I have got to get home, feed & bathe them before settling them for bed. The only upside to all this is that I am using more energy and therefore, should be losing weight. Should be? I better be.

I'm not sure how I feel about this new pre school they are in where independence is encouraged to the extent that I found the twins stripping themselves and putting on clothes sans diapers last week, delighting in their new found ability to take off their clothes. Just yesterday Twin A took off her diaper after she did a massive dump and all the shit was all over her cot. That was horrible. And in the evening, when left alone for just five minutes, she went to her school bag and emptied out the milk powder from the milk dispenser all over the living room. Twin B, at the same time when Twin A was dusting my floor with Enfa, pulled all the freaking tissue paper from the tissue paper box and laid each of them on the Ikea stools in the living area before proceeding to stand on one of the stools. I think I can handle one kid acting out but two at the same time doing two different things...world's end. And did I mention I have to wake up at 7am now?

I need to think how to improve the quality of my life or else I am going to be angry all the time. And that's not good for, well, those in close proximity.

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

32 months today

I didn't think about resolutions for 2016 because I didn't see myself achieving any given how little control I have over, well, anything.

What I have control over, I have applied my efforts to and met with varying results. Still, it will not do to be directionless so after much thought, these are my resolutions which are somewhat similar to my 2015 ones.
1. Lose weight. Like really. Get on my birthday gift at least 3x a week. When I come home from work, I spend time with the twins till 8pm and after that, all I want to do is lie on the bed and chill. I sit down almost all the time at work so I'm getting hardly any exercise except for that hand to mouth action.
2. Keep positive and say only positive stuff. Yup. If I have nothing good to say, I need to zip it and if I must say convey a message, I need to come across as positive, if not, constructive.
3. Stop buying clothes, toys and books. I could open a shop for any of the aforesaid with how much I have. Even with all the storage space I have, I really have out shopped myself with all the shopping in USA last May and online. My kids are good all the way to age 7 for clothes and we just have to go the public library more for books since they are at the sweet age where they won't tear the pages.

The twins have started full day childcare but we take them home before 1pm naptime given how close the school is and what little activities there are in the afternoon. That will need to change start Feb as I will be down to one helper only. My CEB says we can always hire another if we can't cope but I am looking at our finances and thinking, that's not going to work. We need to pay down the mortgage asap and interest rates have gone up. We need to cut expenses and I can't cut down on the house or the kids' upbringing. So, it has to be the helper and we just have to double up and make this arrangement work. Given the current economic climate, I don't forsee myself travelling much if at all. No fishing trips this year for me either since if I have to travel, the CEB has to take childcare or annual leave.

I have to say I am surprised and pleased that it took only about 11 days of school for the twins to stop crying at drop off. Today was the 12th day of school and Twin A decided to cry but that's how she has been since she woke up so I guess I'm not going to put too much into it. They have learnt how to put on their own shoes and self feed since starting school but we still feed them at home because we prefer they use their time to flip books and listen to us read. To keep them at their current weight and ensure they don't end up being all skinny from not eating at school, I now feed them what used to be their lunch, for breakfast and cut down their 7am milk feed to just 90ml from 240ml. So they eat a full meal of pork/beef porridge at 740am and go off to school where they eat lunch of some sort and have a milk feed of 300ml. Dinner remains cod fish/salmon/threadfin porridge at 530pm and a milk feed of 240ml at 730pm before bed. This works like a dream and I am pleased. They also seem to enjoy school tremendously based on the photos and Twin A comes back singing many songs. The teacher-student ratio is 1:6 and the school is timely with updates via communication books, whatsapp chat groups and an online portal. I know what time they are in school and what time they are taken out. Thus far, touch wood, unlike the previous school, they haven't fallen ill though this morning, Twin B said she had a runny nose. I like the fact there is a lot of outdoor activity that gets them moving and drinking more water, and that there are music and movement classes they participate in when previously at MLG, Twin B wouldn't lift a hand.

Temperament wise, Twin A still hasn't snapped out of her tantrums despite my best efforts. She woke me up screaming at the top of her voice non stop because Twin B prodded Twin A's protruding tummy curiously. When Helper 2 went downstairs to prepare porridge, she stood at the doorway and shrieked again non stop. Talking nicely, naughty corners, time outs and even physical discipline has not worked. On top of that, she has strange habits that need to be corrected like slanting her head all the way to the shoulder when talking, or nodding twice vigorously for no good reason. She is behind Twin B in terms of reading and counting abilities despite being given the same advantages and attention. I think it may boil down to interest as she just prefers to walk around aimlessly. Her motor skills are better than Twin B's though.

Twin B is all determined to be a big girl and won't lie in my arms to be cuddled for long. Still, it is to mama she ambles on her fat little legs to when she wants a cuddle or hug. She is able to read independently in English which comes as a surprise to many. She is interested and it is this interest that enables her to learn and come so far. I am not ashamed to say I have spent a great deal of money and time on the twins and Twin B makes it feel that it was all worth it. She loves sleeping in my bed, which is not encouraged but I do so like cuddling up with her in the afternoon when we get a chance to on weekends. She is able to write now numbers 1-10 and can count to 100, as well recognize random numbers 1-100.

Even with full day childcare, I am trying to continue the weekday Kumon classes, and they have classes every Sat and Sunday too. B@rries on Sat morning and Phonics+Maths on Sun which makes me regret somewhat I can't lie in bed like I used to. Those days...lying in bed till 10am? Gone. Haiz.